CTM logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CTM Certification

TL;DR
  • The CTM is ATMAE's Certified Technology Manager exam: 160 multiple-choice questions in a two-hour, open-book written format.
  • The passing criterion is at least 95 cumulative points, not 95 percent, with no separate pass required per section.
  • The free official ATMAE study guide is the primary benchmark; many third-party "CTM" files are outdated or unrelated.
  • Individual students pay $25 (member) or $50 (non-member) for the exam; retakes cost $25 each.

What the ATMAE Certified Technology Manager Credential Is

The Certified Technology Manager credential is issued by the Association of Technology, Management, and Applied Engineering (ATMAE). It is built for people who manage technology-driven work: students finishing related degree programs and early-career professionals who want an independent, third-party validation of management competence. The acronym "CTM" is shared by several unrelated credentials in other industries, so confirm you are working from ATMAE sources. If you are still orienting yourself, our explainers on what CTM certification is and what CTM stands for cover the naming confusion in more detail.

What makes this credential distinctive is its scope. Rather than testing a single technical specialty, the exam samples broad managerial knowledge: how you lead, how you manage yourself, how you think about systems, how you run processes and operations, how you handle people and projects, and how you control quality and risk. Employers and academic programs use it as a common yardstick across technology management, applied engineering and related majors.

Why the official source matters: ATMAE publishes a free Study Guide for the Certified Technology Manager Certification Exam on its website. The guide carries a 2014 copyright, and the live ATMAE page was updated in 2025. A "4.23" in the guide's filename does not prove an April 2023 revision, and no separately identified 2026 exam version has been verified. Treat the issuer's current page and guide as the reference point for everything else you read.

Exam Format: 160 Questions, Two Hours, Open Book

The examination consists of 160 multiple-choice questions with a 120-minute (two-hour) limit. That works out to under 45 seconds per question on average, which is the single most important fact for shaping how you prepare. This is a pacing exam as much as a knowledge exam.

Delivery and proctoring

ATMAE's Board of Certification administers the exam online, with a proctor arranged by the candidate. No separate commercial testing network or named remote-proctoring platform has been verified, so follow ATMAE's current instructions on who qualifies as a proctor rather than assuming a third-party testing center workflow. The official sources do not confirm whether the exam is adaptive, and they do not confirm calculator rules, so ask ATMAE before test day if you plan to rely on one. ADA timing accommodations are available.

What "open book" really means

The exam is open book in a specific, limited sense: printed references are permitted, while internet and software-based references are prohibited. Under a two-hour clock with 160 items, a printed reference is a lookup aid, not a substitute for knowing the material. Candidates who have never seen a topic before cannot learn it mid-exam. The practical approach is to build a short, tabbed, indexed set of formulas and definitions you have already practiced using. Our CTM cheat sheet is a good starting point for deciding what belongs in that reference.

Exam FeatureWhat the Issuer Sources Support
Question count160 multiple-choice questions
Time limit120 minutes (two hours)
DeliveryOnline, with a candidate-arranged proctor
Reference materialsPrinted references allowed; internet and software references prohibited
Scored/unscored splitNot separately disclosed
Calculator and adaptive deliveryNot verified
AccommodationsADA timing accommodations available

The Eight Content Areas, Mapped to the Official Guide

The detailed guide organizes the exam into eight numbered areas. The live ATMAE page names the same areas but expands "Project" and "Risk" to "Project Management" and "Risk Management." This article follows the guide's headings. The published question allocations add up to 160, and ATMAE does not publish percentage weights, so the counts below are best read as relative emphasis, not calculated percentages.

Content AreaPublished Question Allocation
Leadership10
Self-Management18
Systems18
Processes19
Operations19
People19
Project19
Quality19
Risk19

Notice the structure: the allocation table has nine rows because it separates Leadership from Self-Management, but the numbered outline studies them together as one section. Combined, that first section carries the largest allocation of any area, at 28 questions. That is a useful reminder that the soft-skills material at the front of the guide is not filler. For a deeper walk through each area, see our complete guide to all eight CTM content areas.

Domain 1: Leadership/Self-Management

Studied together in the guide and the largest block on the exam. Expect scenario questions about how a manager motivates, communicates and organizes their own work.

  • Leadership styles and when each is appropriate
  • Personal effectiveness, time and priority management
  • Ethical and professional conduct in technical environments

Domain 2: Systems

Systems thinking applied to technology organizations. The common trap is confusing a system-level view with the day-to-day view of a process.

  • Inputs, outputs, feedback and boundaries
  • How subsystems interact and where failures propagate
  • Organizational and technical systems as interconnected wholes

Domain 3: Processes

How work is defined, documented, measured and improved. Think workflow and repeatability.

  • Process mapping and documentation
  • Process measurement and improvement logic
  • Distinguishing a process from the system that contains it

Domain 4: Operations

The running of production and service delivery. Operations questions tend to be quantitative and applied.

  • Planning, scheduling and capacity concepts
  • Inventory and resource management fundamentals
  • Efficiency and throughput in day-to-day delivery

Domain 5: People

Human resource and team dynamics from a manager's viewpoint.

  • Team formation, motivation and performance
  • Conflict, communication and organizational behavior
  • Staffing, development and workplace relations

Domain 6: Project

Project management mechanics, including the calculation-heavy topics that reward practice.

  • Scope, schedule and cost control
  • Critical path and PERT-style scheduling calculations
  • Project lifecycle and stakeholder coordination

Domain 7: Quality

Quality concepts and the statistical thinking behind them.

  • Quality philosophies and continuous improvement
  • Control charts and quality-control calculations
  • Linking quality to customer requirements and cost

Domain 8: Risk

Identifying, assessing and responding to uncertainty in technical and business settings.

  • Risk identification and assessment
  • Mitigation, transfer, acceptance and avoidance
  • Safety, legal and business-continuity considerations

Systems vs. Processes vs. Operations

These three areas share vocabulary and are where candidates lose points through blurred definitions. A reliable mental model: Systems is the whole interacting structure, Processes is the repeatable sequence of activities inside it, and Operations is the ongoing execution and resourcing of those processes to deliver output. When a question mentions feedback loops or boundaries, think systems; when it mentions steps, documentation or improvement of a workflow, think processes; when it mentions scheduling, capacity or day-to-day delivery, think operations.

Passing Points, Pass Rates and Mean Scores

The current passing criterion is at least 95 cumulative points. It is not 95 percent. The guide specifies composite scoring, meaning your points are accumulated across the exam and you do not need a separate passing result in every section. A weak showing in one area can be offset by strength in another, though that is a poor strategy to plan around. Our CTM passing score article goes into the scoring language in more detail.

What the available performance data does and does not say

ATMAE does not publicly disclose a current issuer-wide pass rate in the sources checked. Two outside data points circulate, and they measure different things:

  • A university cohort report: Millersville University reported that 19 of 23 of its CTM candidates passed (about 83%), set against a stated 76% national average. The sampling period and denominator behind that national figure are not specified, so it cannot be treated as a verified current national rate.
  • A mean score, not a pass rate: The University of Southern Maine's technology management page reports a 71.67% average score for 2024. An average score tells you how a cohort scored on average, not how many passed.
Reading the numbers carefully: A local cohort pass rate, a national comparison with an unknown denominator, a mean score and the 95-point passing criterion are four different things. Do not convert one into another. For more on how to interpret this evidence, see our breakdown of what the CTM pass rate data shows and our guide to how difficult the CTM exam is.

Eligibility, Fees and the Registration Route

Who can sit for the exam

Eligibility, per ATMAE's Certification FAQ, requires passing the CTM exam and being in the final year of a related four-year degree program or holding a related two-year associate degree. ATMAE describes graduates of ATMAE-accredited four-year programs as well prepared, but that language is not presented as an exclusive accredited-program requirement. No fixed initial work-experience hours, training hours or reference count was verified for the initial credential. Membership is required for certification and is included in the current individual-exam route. See our CTM requirements guide for the eligibility details in one place.

Fee structure (USD)

RouteMemberNon-Member
Individual student$25$50
Professional (includes membership and certification upon passing)$50$150
Optional review$25$50
Retake$25 each; no waiting period and no published attempt limit

Group and institutional routes

Programs that test whole cohorts have a different structure. Group assessment is $25 per student and excludes membership and certification. Group certification is $75 per student and includes both upon passing. A student who passes under group assessment must apply and pay separately for certification within one year. If you are testing through a university, confirm which route your program uses before you pay anything yourself. A full pricing walkthrough is in our CTM certification cost breakdown.

Results and timing

Results are immediate. Certification information is normally emailed within three business days when certification is included in your route or the separate certification fee has been paid. For scheduling specifics, check our CTM exam dates guide and ATMAE's current instructions.

Building a Preparation Plan Around the Question Allocations

This is the one place for general methodology, and it is tied directly to the exam's structure. Because the allocation is nearly even across seven of the areas (18 or 19 questions each) with Leadership/Self-Management as the large combined block, an even, rotating schedule beats cramming one favorite topic. Schedule the calculation-heavy areas (Project, Quality, Operations) earlier so you have time to repeat them, and use the final week for timed mixed sets under the two-hour limit.

Week 1

Orient and cover the largest block

  • Download and read the free ATMAE study guide end to end
  • Study Leadership and Self-Management together, as the guide does
  • Draft the skeleton of your printed reference
Week 2

Structure: Systems, Processes, Operations

  • Write one-line distinctions for each of the three areas
  • Practice applied operations questions
Week 3

Calculation-heavy areas

  • Work Project scheduling, critical path and PERT-style problems by hand
  • Work Quality-control calculations and add worked examples to your reference
Week 4

People, Risk and timed practice

  • Review People and Risk concepts
  • Take a full 160-question set within 120 minutes and tab your reference by area

Choosing practice material wisely

The search results for CTM practice material are noisy. Some user-uploaded study documents contain answers that conflict with the official guide, and at least one listing under a CTM-style title exposes unrelated medical-assistant content. An older mirrored guide describes a four-section, 180-question, three-hour format, which is superseded by the current eight-section guide. Flashcard sets and marketplace uploads may not be aligned to the current scope. Use the official guide as your benchmark, and verify any outside question against it before trusting it. Quality practice questions should span all eight areas, include explanations, and include worked calculations for scheduling and quality control. You can start with our CTM practice test and read the CTM study guide for a full-scope plan.

Key Takeaway

Practice lookup speed, not just recall. With under 45 seconds per question, an indexed printed reference you have rehearsed using is worth far more than a thick binder you are seeing for the first time on exam day.

After You Pass: Renewal, CSTM and Career Value

Annual renewal for the initial CTM

Annual renewal requires students to pay $25 membership plus $25 per certification, and professionals $100 membership plus $35 per certification. The initial CTM does not require continuing-education reporting.

CTM vs. CSTM

CSTM is a separate, optional senior designation, not a replacement for the CTM. The dedicated Senior Certification page requires a current initial credential, at least three years of postgraduate professional experience and 30 professional development units (PDUs) earned within the preceding three years. Coursework used for your qualifying degree cannot count toward those PDUs. Senior maintenance requires annual dues and 30 PDUs per three-year cycle. Once eligible, upgrading does not require another exam or an additional application fee.

There is an unresolved wording difference worth knowing about. The FAQ measures the three years of experience after initial certification, while the dedicated senior page measures postgraduate experience, and the CTM page contains a shorter upgrade statement that mentions 30 PDUs without restating the experience requirement. Because of that, do not assume an unconditional upgrade; confirm the current requirement with ATMAE before planning around it.

ItemInitial CTMCSTM (Senior)
Exam requiredYesNo additional exam once eligible
ExperienceNo fixed work-experience hours verifiedAt least three years of professional experience (wording varies by ATMAE page)
Continuing educationNot required for the initial credential30 PDUs per three-year cycle
Annual duesMembership plus per-certification feeAnnual dues required

Career value and salary

No issuer-verified salary survey of CTM holders and no causal earnings premium for the credential was found. Salary figures for technology-manager job titles exist, but they reflect the job, not the certification, so it would be misleading to attribute them to holding the CTM. A more defensible way to think about value: the credential is a low-cost, externally validated signal of broad management knowledge, which can help early-career candidates stand out when applying for technology management and related roles. For a fuller discussion, see our CTM salary guide, our ROI analysis, and our overview of CTM-related jobs. If you are comparing paths, note that ATMAE's CTP is a separate credential from the CTM, and any comparison should be based on each credential's own published scope.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the CTM exam open book?

Yes, in a limited way. Printed references are permitted, but internet and software-based references are prohibited. Because there are 160 questions in two hours, a printed reference only helps if you have organized and practiced with it beforehand.

What score do I need to pass?

You need at least 95 cumulative points. That is a point threshold, not 95 percent, and the guide specifies composite scoring without requiring a separate pass in every section.

How much does the CTM cost?

For individual students, $25 for members or $50 for non-members. Professionals pay $50 (member) or $150 (non-member), which includes membership and certification upon passing. Retakes are $25 each with no waiting period. Group and institutional routes are priced differently.

What is the CTM pass rate?

ATMAE does not publicly disclose a current issuer-wide pass rate in the sources checked. A 2023 university report cited 19 of 23 of its own candidates passing against a stated 76% national average, but that comparison's sampling period is unspecified, so treat it as a historical data point only.

Do I need to renew the CTM, and is CSTM required?

The CTM is renewed annually through membership and certification fees, with no continuing-education reporting for the initial credential. CSTM is a separate, optional senior designation that requires experience and PDUs, and its eligibility wording varies across ATMAE pages, so confirm current requirements with ATMAE.

Ready to pass your CTM exam?

Put this into practice with free CTM questions across every exam domain.