CTM logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CTM Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • ATMAE's current published rules describe a candidate-arranged, proctored online exam, not a single national testing window.
  • The exam has 160 multiple-choice questions and a 120-minute limit, so pacing is part of your scheduling plan.
  • Results appear immediately; certification details are normally emailed within three business days once certification is paid or included.
  • Retakes cost $25 each with no published waiting period, which removes most calendar pressure from a first attempt.

Why the CTM Does Not Run on a Fixed Calendar

Many candidates searching for "CTM exam dates 2026" expect a published list of testing windows, like the seasonal cycles used by some professional credentials. The Certified Technology Manager (CTM), administered by the Association of Technology, Management, and Applied Engineering (ATMAE), is organized differently. In the sources reviewed for this article, we found no published national schedule of fixed 2026 sitting dates, application cut-offs or results-release days.

That is not a gap in this guide; it reflects how the exam is delivered. ATMAE's Board of Certification administers the exam online with a candidate-arranged proctor. In practice, your "exam date" is the day you and your proctor agree on, within the rules ATMAE sets for administration. If you are still orienting yourself to the credential itself, start with What Is CTM Certification? and then return here for the logistics.

Scheduling reality check: No separate commercial testing network or named remote-proctoring platform was verified in the issuer sources. Do not assume a Pearson- or Prometric-style booking portal with seat inventory. Confirm the current proctoring process directly with ATMAE before you commit to a date.

How Scheduling Works for the ATMAE Certified Technology Manager Exam

Because the exam is proctored by someone you arrange, scheduling is closer to coordinating an appointment than reserving a seat. The current Certification FAQ and fee page, rather than the older separate-application wording in the 2014 study guide, govern administration today. That distinction matters: some third-party pages still repeat outdated multi-step application and results-processing language.

A practical scheduling sequence

  1. Confirm eligibility first. Check the rules in CTM Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify before choosing a date.
  2. Choose your route. Individual and group routes behave differently (see below).
  3. Arrange your proctor. Ask ATMAE what qualifies someone to proctor, and secure that person's availability before you pick a day.
  4. Pay the applicable fee. The breakdown is in CTM Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
  5. Sit the exam and receive your result immediately.

Because the sequence has no published weeks-long waiting list, the real constraint is your proctor's calendar and your own readiness, not an ATMAE-imposed window.

Who Can Sit for the Exam and When

Eligibility determines when you can reasonably schedule. According to the Certification FAQ, a candidate must pass the CTM exam and either be in the final year of a related four-year degree program or hold a related two-year associate degree. The CTM page also speaks to graduates and working professionals, and it describes graduates of ATMAE-accredited four-year programs as well prepared. That is a statement about preparation, not an exclusive eligibility requirement.

No fixed initial work-experience hours, training hours or reference count was verified for the initial CTM. For students, this means the natural scheduling moment is often the final year of the degree, when coursework in management, operations and quality is fresh. For professionals, it means you can schedule when you feel ready rather than waiting for an experience threshold.

Timing tip for final-year students: Because eligibility for students is tied to being in the final year of the program, avoid pushing your attempt into the semester after graduation without first confirming how your status will be treated. Ask ATMAE before you assume.

Individual Route vs. Group Route: Timing Differences

The route you take changes your timeline more than any other factor. ATMAE publishes separate pricing and processes for individual candidates and for group (typically institutional) administrations.

FeatureIndividual RouteGroup AssessmentGroup Certification
Fee (students)$25 member / $50 non-member$25 per student$75 per student
Fee (professionals)$50 member / $150 non-member, including membership and certification upon passingNot specified as a separate professional tier in the sources reviewedNot specified as a separate professional tier in the sources reviewed
Includes membership and certification?Membership included in current individual-exam route; certification upon passingNoYes, upon passing
Key deadlineSchedule when your proctor and you are readyApply and pay for certification separately within one year of passingNo separate one-year follow-up fee

The group-assessment route introduces the only hard calendar rule we found: after passing, a candidate must apply and pay separately for certification within one year. If you are in a university cohort that uses assessment-only pricing, put that one-year mark on your calendar the day you receive your result.

Why the Group Route Often Sets a De Facto Exam Date

When a faculty member administers the exam to a class, the practical exam date is whatever the department sets, typically late in a term. Students on this route should ask their instructor which date has been planned and how the proctoring is arranged, because individual candidates generally set their own timeline.

What to Expect on Exam Day: Format and Time Limit

The calendar question and the clock question are linked. The exam contains 160 multiple-choice questions with a 120-minute (two-hour) limit. That works out to well under a minute per question on average, so your exam-day schedule should leave you rested and uninterrupted for the full period, plus setup time with your proctor.

Published question allocations across the eight areas are:

  • Leadership: 10 questions
  • Self-Management: 18 questions
  • Systems: 18 questions
  • Processes: 19 questions
  • Operations: 19 questions
  • People: 19 questions
  • Project: 19 questions
  • Quality: 19 questions
  • Risk: 19 questions

These allocations total 160. The numbered outline in the official guide studies Leadership and Self-Management together as one first section, which makes that combined section the largest by question count. ATMAE does not publish percentage weights in the sources reviewed, so treat these as item counts only. For a deeper walk through each area, see CTM Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas.

Open-Book Rules Affect Your Test-Day Preparation

The CTM is an open-book exam with limits. Printed references are permitted; internet and software-based references are prohibited.

  • Prepare and index your printed materials in advance, since you have roughly 45 seconds per item on average.
  • Do not plan to look anything up online during the sitting.
  • Calculator permission and adaptive delivery were not verified, so ask ATMAE and your proctor before test day.
  • ADA timing accommodations are available; request them well before your planned date.

Our CTM Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts is a useful starting point for building the quick-reference material you will bring in.

Deadlines, Fees and Retake Timing

Money and time interact in a useful way on this exam, because failure is cheap and fast to recover from. Retakes cost $25 each, with no waiting period and no published attempt limit. That means a missed pass does not force you into a multi-month wait before trying again, which is unusual among professional credentials.

The optional review is priced at $25 for members and $50 for non-members. Whether it fits your schedule depends on how long you have before your target date. For the complete fee picture, including membership, see CTM Certification Cost 2026.

Key Takeaway

Because retakes are $25 with no published waiting period, treat your first sitting as a real attempt, not a trial run, but do not delay scheduling out of fear. Build a buffer of a few days so a second attempt, if needed, does not collide with a job start date or graduation requirement.

After the Exam: Results, Certification and Renewal Dates

Results and certification timing

Results are immediate. If certification is included in your fee, or you have paid the separate certification fee, certification information is normally emailed within three business days. Plan around that three-business-day window if an employer or program needs documentation by a deadline.

Passing score

The current passing criterion is at least 95 cumulative points, not 95 percent. The guide specifies composite scoring, so you do not need a separate pass in every section. For more detail on how this works, see CTM Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass. If you are weighing difficulty against your timeline, How Hard Is the CTM Exam? and CTM Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explain what is and is not publicly known.

Annual renewal rhythm

CTM renewal is annual. Students pay $25 membership plus $25 per certification; professionals pay $100 membership plus $35 per certification. The initial CTM does not require continuing-education reporting. That makes the renewal date a billing date rather than a documentation deadline, so set a reminder around your certification anniversary.

The optional senior step

The Certified Senior Technology Manager (CSTM) is a separate, optional senior designation. The dedicated senior page requires a current initial credential, at least three years of postgraduate professional experience and 30 PDUs earned within the preceding three years. Coursework used for the qualifying degree cannot count toward those PDUs. Maintenance requires annual dues and 30 PDUs per three-year cycle. Once eligible, upgrading does not require another exam or an additional application fee.

Read the senior wording carefully: ATMAE's own pages describe the experience requirement slightly differently. The FAQ measures three years of experience after initial certification, the senior page measures postgraduate experience, and the CTM page mentions 30 PDUs without restating the experience requirement. Do not plan a senior upgrade date until you have confirmed the current rule with ATMAE.

Planning Backward From Your Test Date

This is the one place where a study calendar helps, and it works best when tied to the eight areas rather than to generic habits. Whatever date you settle on with your proctor, work backward in blocks that match the exam's structure. The sample below assumes a six-week runway; compress or stretch it to fit your own date.

Week 1

Leadership and Self-Management

  • Study these together, as the official outline does; the combined section carries the most questions.
  • Download the free official ATMAE guide and use it as your benchmark.
Week 2

Systems, Processes and Operations

  • Practice distinguishing among the three, since they are easy to blur.
Week 3

People and Project

  • Work scheduling problems, including PERT and critical-path examples, by hand.
Week 4

Quality and Risk

  • Rehearse quality-control calculations and risk-handling concepts.
Weeks 5-6

Timed practice and reference indexing

  • Take full 160-question sets against a 120-minute clock.
  • Tab and index your printed references so retrieval is fast.

The full approach is covered in CTM Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt. For timed, exam-style items that mirror the eight areas, use the CTM practice test on the main site, and revisit the full practice question bank once you have worked through each area.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there fixed CTM exam dates in 2026?

In the issuer sources reviewed, no fixed national testing windows were published. The exam is administered online with a proctor the candidate arranges, so your date is the one you set within ATMAE's rules. Confirm current procedures with ATMAE before booking.

How long is the CTM exam?

It contains 160 multiple-choice questions with a 120-minute (two-hour) limit. Plan your sitting so you have uninterrupted time for the full period plus setup with your proctor.

When do I get my results?

Results are immediate. Certification information is normally emailed within three business days when certification is included in your fee or you have paid the separate certification fee.

How soon can I retake the exam if I do not pass?

Retakes cost $25 each, with no waiting period and no published attempt limit in the sources reviewed. Build in a short buffer between attempts so you can review your weakest areas.

Is there a deadline after passing?

For the group-assessment route, candidates must apply and pay separately for certification within one year of passing. Individual and group-certification routes include certification upon passing, and annual renewal follows after you are certified.

For the bigger picture on whether the timeline and cost fit your career plans, see Is the CTM Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CTM Jobs.

Ready to pass your CTM exam?

Put this into practice with free CTM questions across every exam domain.