- The 95-Point Rule: What the Passing Criterion Actually Says
- Why 95 Points Is Not 95 Percent
- Composite Scoring and the Eight Content Areas
- Where the 160 Questions Come From
- Pass Rates, Mean Scores and Other Numbers You Should Not Confuse With the Cut Score
- Pacing 160 Questions in Two Hours With Printed References
- Retake Mechanics and What a Miss Costs
- Scheduling Prep Around the Scoring Rules
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The current ATMAE Certified Technology Manager passing criterion is at least 95 cumulative points, not 95 percent.
- Scoring is composite: the official guide does not require a separate passing result in every content area.
- The exam has 160 multiple-choice questions and a 120-minute limit; printed references are allowed, internet and software references are not.
- Retakes cost $25 each with no waiting period and no published attempt limit; results are immediate.
The 95-Point Rule: What the Passing Criterion Actually Says
If you are searching for the ATMAE Certified Technology Manager (CTM) passing score, the answer is short and easy to misread: the current passing criterion is at least 95 cumulative points. It is not described as 95 percent, and that distinction matters more than almost anything else in this article.
The exam itself is a 160-question multiple-choice written exam with a 120-minute (two-hour) limit. ATMAE's Board of Certification administers it online with a candidate-arranged proctor. The passing criterion comes from the issuer's own materials, specifically the free official study guide and the current certification pages on atmae.org. Anything you read on a third-party upload site that gives a different threshold, a different question count or a different time limit should be treated as suspect until you check it against those sources.
For a broader view of how the credential is structured and who it is aimed at, see our overview of what CTM certification is, and for eligibility rules see CTM requirements: eligibility, prerequisites and how to qualify.
Why 95 Points Is Not 95 Percent
The most common mistake candidates make is translating "95" into "95 percent" and then concluding the exam is nearly impossible. That reading is wrong on its face. A 95 percent standard on 160 questions would be a punishing bar, and nothing in the issuer's guide describes the criterion that way.
It is equally wrong to swing the other way and assume you can divide 95 by 160 and treat the result as a pass percentage. The sources do not establish how cumulative points map onto the 160 questions, so no responsible article can hand you a "you need to answer X questions correctly" figure. What the sources do establish is the language: cumulative points, composite scoring, at least 95.
| Common claim | What the issuer sources support |
|---|---|
| "You need 95% to pass" | Not supported. The criterion is at least 95 cumulative points. |
| "You must pass every section separately" | Not supported. The guide specifies composite scoring without a separate pass in every section. |
| "The exam has 180 questions and three hours" | Outdated. That describes a 2009 guide mirror; the current guide lists 160 questions and 120 minutes. |
| "Exact number of correct answers required is X" | Not disclosed in the retrieved sources, so any specific figure is unverified. |
If your goal is to understand how demanding the exam really is in practice, our complete CTM difficulty guide walks through the content and format in more depth.
Composite Scoring and the Eight Content Areas
The official guide specifies composite scoring without a separate pass in every section. In plain terms, your points accumulate across the whole exam, and the 95-point criterion is measured against that total. A weak showing in one area can, in principle, be offset by strength elsewhere.
That does not mean you should skip any area. The issuer's scope covers eight numbered areas, and the exam is built from all of them. The guide's headings are:
- Leadership/Self-Management
- Systems
- Processes
- Operations
- People
- Project
- Quality
- Risk
Note that the live ATMAE credential page uses slightly expanded names (Project Management and Risk Management), while the detailed guide uses the shorter headings above. Both describe the same eight areas. Our complete guide to all 8 CTM content areas maps each one to the topics you should expect.
Key Takeaway
Composite scoring is a safety net, not a strategy. Because every area contributes questions, a candidate who ignores an entire area is giving away a block of points that the other areas must then make up. Study all eight, then spend extra time on whichever one your practice results show is weakest.
Where the 160 Questions Come From
The official guide publishes how the 160 questions are allocated. The allocation table has nine rows because it lists Leadership and Self-Management separately, even though the numbered outline studies them together as a single first section.
| Area | Published question allocation |
|---|---|
| Leadership | 10 |
| Self-Management | 18 |
| Systems | 18 |
| Processes | 19 |
| Operations | 19 |
| People | 19 |
| Project | 19 |
| Quality | 19 |
| Risk | 19 |
| Total | 160 |
Two observations follow directly from these counts. First, the combined Leadership/Self-Management section is the largest single block (10 plus 18, or 28 questions), because the guide studies those two together. Second, the remaining areas are close to evenly sized, with Systems slightly smaller than the rest. That is a useful reality check against any resource that claims one narrow topic dominates the exam.
The issuer sources retrieved for this article do not publish percentage weights, and we have not converted these counts into percentages here. Treat the counts as the official allocation and leave it at that.
Domain 1: Leadership/Self-Management
The largest combined block by question count. Study leadership and self-management together, as the issuer's outline does, rather than as two unrelated topics.
- Expect conceptual management questions rather than calculations.
- Because this section is large, a shaky foundation here costs more points than a shaky area elsewhere.
Domains 2 to 4: Systems, Processes, Operations
These three neighbors are easy to blur together. Candidates benefit from drilling the distinction between how a system is structured, how a process is defined and improved, and how operations are run day to day.
- Systems carries 18 questions; Processes and Operations carry 19 each.
- Write your own one-line definition of each term and test yourself against practice questions.
Domains 5 to 8: People, Project, Quality, Risk
Each carries 19 questions. Project, Quality and Risk are the areas most likely to include worked quantitative items, such as scheduling and critical-path reasoning or quality-control calculations, so practice the arithmetic by hand.
- Rehearse calculations with and without your printed references.
- Do not assume a specific calculator is permitted; calculator permission was not verified in the sources.
Pass Rates, Mean Scores and Other Numbers You Should Not Confuse With the Cut Score
When candidates look for the passing score, they often run into other numbers that are easy to mistake for it. Keep these separate.
- The cut score: at least 95 cumulative points. This is the only figure that defines a pass.
- A university cohort pass rate: Millersville University reported in a May 2023 news item that 19 of 23 of its CTM candidates passed, rounded to 83 percent, and cited a 76 percent national average. The sampling period and denominator behind that national comparison are not specified, so it is not a verified 2026 national rate. It describes one cohort at one school.
- A mean score: the University of Southern Maine's technology management page reports a 71.67 percent average score from its 2024 summary report. That is an average score, not a pass rate and not a passing threshold.
- A current issuer-wide pass rate: not publicly disclosed in the retrieved issuer sources.
This is also where unreliable study resources tend to slip. Several third-party pages describing the CTM exam have been observed to misstate the duration, the question count or even the credential itself. Verify any claimed passing score against the ATMAE study guide and certification pages before you plan around it.
Pacing 160 Questions in Two Hours With Printed References
Two hours for 160 questions works out to an average of 45 seconds per question. That is tight for a candidate who stops to look everything up, which is why the open-book rule deserves a careful reading.
The exam is open book in a limited sense: printed references are permitted, and internet or software-based references are prohibited. Reference material helps most when you can find the right page quickly, not when you read it from scratch during the test. Practical steps that fit the format:
- Index your printed references with tabs keyed to the eight content areas so you can jump straight to the relevant section.
- Keep formulas and definitions you are likely to need for Project, Quality and Risk on a single easy-to-find summary page.
- Answer what you know immediately and mark the rest, since a lookup that takes two minutes costs the time of several easy questions.
- Practice under a real two-hour clock, because the pace is the hard part for many candidates, not any individual question.
ADA timing accommodations are available through ATMAE for candidates who need them. Our one-page CTM cheat sheet is a good starting point for building a compact reference you can tab and annotate, and you can run timed drills on the CTM practice test site.
Retake Mechanics and What a Miss Costs
Because a composite score of 95 points is the bar, a near miss is a real possibility, and the retake rules are unusually forgiving. According to the current ATMAE fee and FAQ pages, retakes cost $25 each, with no waiting period and no published attempt limit. Results are available immediately after the exam.
Here is how the initial fees are structured so you can see where a retake fits:
| Route | Fee (USD) |
|---|---|
| Individual student | $25 member / $50 non-member |
| Individual professional | $50 member / $150 non-member (includes membership and certification upon passing) |
| Group assessment | $25 per student; excludes membership and certification |
| Group certification | $75 per student; includes both upon passing |
| Optional review | $25 member / $50 non-member |
| Retake | $25 each |
Candidates who take the group assessment route and pass must apply and pay separately for certification within one year. Certification information is normally emailed within three business days when certification is included or the separate fee has been paid. For the full fee picture, including annual renewal, see CTM certification cost: complete pricing breakdown.
Key Takeaway
Low retake cost and no waiting period change the risk calculation, but they are not a reason to sit the exam unprepared. Each attempt still takes a two-hour block, so use a failed attempt as diagnostic data: note which of the eight areas felt weakest and aim your next round of practice there.
Scheduling Prep Around the Scoring Rules
Because scoring is composite and the allocation is nearly even across areas, a good plan front-loads the largest block and the areas most likely to include calculations. One way to sequence it:
Leadership/Self-Management
- Study the combined section first because it carries the largest question count.
- Read the official ATMAE study guide section by section.
Systems, Processes, Operations
- Drill the differences among the three terms with your own definitions.
- Take a short practice set and log every miss.
People, Project, Quality, Risk
- Work scheduling, critical-path and quality-control calculations by hand.
- Build and tab your printed reference.
Timed full-length practice
- Run a 160-question set against a 120-minute clock using only printed references.
- Review misses by area and revisit the weakest one.
For a deeper study framework tied to the official outline, see our CTM study guide for passing on your first attempt. If you are still deciding whether the credential makes sense for your career, is the CTM certification worth it lays out the return-on-investment questions without inventing earnings figures.
Frequently Asked Questions
The current passing criterion is at least 95 cumulative points. It is not 95 percent, and the issuer sources retrieved do not publish a conversion from points to number of questions answered correctly.
No. The official guide specifies composite scoring without a separate pass in every section, so your points accumulate across the whole exam. That said, all eight areas contribute questions, so neglecting any of them makes the 95-point total harder to reach.
The exam has 160 multiple-choice questions and a 120-minute (two-hour) limit. Printed references are allowed; internet and software-based references are not.
You can retake the exam. Retakes cost $25 each, with no waiting period and no published attempt limit, and results are immediate. Check the current ATMAE fee page before registering in case details have been updated.
No. That figure is an average score reported by one university for its 2024 CTM results, not a pass rate and not a cut score. The passing criterion is at least 95 cumulative points.